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PROBLEM 6

You are South, a slightly reluctant declarer in 4.

			   	 A K J 9 6
	 	 	 	 Q 2
	 	 	 	 5 3 2
	 	 	 	 7 4 2

			 

N 
W	 E 

S

	 	 	 	 —
	 	 	 	 J 10 9 8 7 6
	 	 	 	 A K 4
	 	 	 	 A K Q J

	 West	 North	 East	 South
				    1
	 pass	 1	 pass	 2
	 pass	 2	 pass	 4
	 all pass

You have an unusual hand — six hearts missing the top honors, a void in 
spades and 17 HCP in the minors.  Although you have no card higher than 
the jack in hearts, it is still the suit to bid.  You open 1, partner responds 
1, which is not unexpected, and you bid your second suit, clubs.  Partner’s 
spades are not good enough to rebid; expecting you to have five hearts and 
four clubs for your bidding, partner gives preference to hearts because a 5-2 
fit is better than a 4-3 fit as a trump suit.  This is enough encouragement for 
you to go on to game.

West leads the 10.  What are your thoughts?

Ana l ysis
You have a diamond loser and two in trumps.  Unfortunately you will 
probably not be able to get to dummy to discard your diamond loser on 
a high spade.  The trumps don’t look very attractive but at least you have 
eight of them between your hand and dummy.

Should you start drawing trumps?

To Answer
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SOLUTION 6

			   	 A K J 9 6
	 	 	 	 Q 2
	 	 	 	 5 3 2
	 	 	 	 7 4 2
	 	 10 5 3			   	 Q 8 7 4 2
	 	 A K 3			   	 5 4
	 	 10 9 8 7 6			   	 Q J 
	 	 9 3	

N 
W	 E 

S 	 	 10 8 6 5
	 	 	 	 —
	 	 	 	 J 10 9 8 7 6
	 	 	 	 A K 4
	 	 	 	 A K Q J

In every suit contract you have to decide whether or not to draw trumps 
immediately.  There are many straightforward deals where you have good 
tricks to run and you do not have to dispose of losers urgently.  In these cases, 
draw trumps first.  This is one of those deals, and the lack of high trumps in 
your hand and dummy should not deter you.

Win the opening lead with the A in your hand and lead a trump.  
West will win with the K to deny you access to dummy and then probably 
continue diamonds.  You will win with the K and lead another trump, which 
West will take with the A.  Draw the last trump when you regain the lead 
and you will make your contract.

Let’s look at what might happen if you decide to avoid leading trumps 
because they look so pathetic.  You might decide to attack the club suit.  Say 
you play the A, K and Q.  West will ruff the Q with the 3.  So the 
defense will end up winning three trumps as well as a diamond.

The point of drawing trumps is to deny the opponents the chance to 
ruff with their small trumps.  So unless there are other considerations such 
as trumping a loser in dummy or discarding a loser you should draw trumps 
as soon as possible.

Key Poin t
Draw trumps early unless you have a good reason for delay, such as trumping a 

loser in dummy or discarding a loser.

To Question
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PROBLEM 7

You are South, playing in 4.

			   	 4 3
	 	 	 	 A 7 6 5
	 	 	 	 10 9 8
	 	 	 	 K Q J 6

			 

N 
W	 E 

S

	 	 	 	 A K 6
	 	 	 	 K J 3 2
	 	 	 	 7 6 5
	 	 	 	 A 5 3

	 West	 North	 East	 South
				    1NT
	 pass	 2	 pass	 2
	 pass	 4	 all pass

You open 1NT with your balanced 15 HCP.  North, looking for a heart fit, 
bids 2, Stayman.  You show your four-card heart suit by bidding 2 and 
partner leaps to game.

West leads the A.  How do you plan to play the hand?

Ana l ysis
You have three immediate diamond losers and a spade loser that can 
either be ruffed in dummy or discarded on a club winner.  The only 
problem is how to handle the trump suit.

West takes the A, K and Q and switches to a small spade.  Now 
it is time to tackle trumps.  There are five missing hearts, including the 
queen.  Do you play the ace and king to try and drop the queen, or do 
you play some other way?

To Answer
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SOLUTION 7

			   	 4 3
	 	 	 	 A 7 6 5
	 	 	 	 10 9 8
	 	 	 	 K Q J 6
	 	 Q 8 7 2			   	 J 10 9 5
	 	 10 4			   	 Q 9 8
	 	 A K Q			   	 J 4 3 2
	 	 9 8 7 2	

N 
W	 E 

S 	 	 10 4
	 	 	 	 A K 6
	 	 	 	 K J 3 2
	 	 	 	 7 6 5
	 	 	 	 A 5 3

When five cards of a suit are missing, the most likely split is 3-2, meaning 
that West will have three and East two, or vice-versa.  If that is so, the queen 
is more likely to be in the hand with three hearts.  If you don’t believe this, 
deal the queen and four small hearts into two piles several times and see how 
often the queen is in the pile of three.

So the Q is not likely to drop if you cash the A and K.  Your only 
hope is that East has the queen and one or two others.  So cross to the A in 
dummy and then lead the 5 towards your hand.  If the Q doesn’t appear 
from East, play the J.  West plays the 10, so you now play the K and drop 
East’s Q.  Congratulations, you have successfully finessed against the queen!

This time you make your contract.  If West had been dealt the Q, you 
would have gone down.  That’s life!

Key Poin t
With eight cards in a suit missing the queen, finesse.

To Question
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PROBLEM 8

You are South.  After a simple auction you are declarer in 3NT.

			   	 Q 3 2
	 	 	 	 A K 4
	 	 	 	 10 2
	 	 	 	 Q 9 6 3 2

			 

N 
W	 E 

S

	 	 	 	 A K 5
	 	 	 	 J 7
	 	 	 	 A 7 4
	 	 	 	 K J 10 7 4

	 West	 North	 East	 South
				    1NT
	 pass	 3NT	 all pass

You have a balanced hand with 16 points so you open 1NT (15-17 HCP).  
North has 11 points and no four-card major, so raises you immediately to 
game.

The lead is the K by West.  How do you plan to play the hand?

Ana l ysis
The first thing to do is to count your winners.  You have the A, K and 
Q — that’s three.  Then the A and K — that’s two more, and the 
A brings the total to six.  So you need to find three more tricks.  The 
obvious source of extra tricks is the club suit where you have the king, 
queen, jack, ten and nine.  All you need to do is knock out the A and 
you will have four club tricks.

Are there any possible problems?  Is there anything bad that can 
happen if you take the A at once and lead a club?

To Answer
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SOLUTION 8

			   	 Q 3 2
	 	 	 	 A K 4
	 	 	 	 10 2
	 	 	 	 Q 9 6 3 2
	 	 J 8 4			   	 10 9 7 6
	 	 9 8 5 3			   	 Q 10 6 2
	 	 K Q J 5 3			   	 9 8 6
	 	 8	

N 
W	 E 

S 	 	 A 5
	 	 	 	 A K 5
	 	 	 	 J 7
	 	 	 	 A 7 4
	 	 	 	 K J 10 7 4

The danger is that the opponents may be able to take four diamond tricks 
before you can cash your clubs.  The opening lead of the K is most likely 
from a sequence and it may be from a five-card or longer suit.  If it is from a 
four-card suit there is no problem because each opponent has four cards and 
they cannot take more than three diamond tricks.

The solution is to let West win the first trick with the K and if diamonds 
are continued let West win that one as well.  Why?  Because if West has five 
diamonds and East has three, East won’t have one left to lead to partner after 
three rounds.  Take the third diamond with the ace and then lead a club.  
Make sure to set up your clubs before cashing your stoppers in the majors.  
Fortunately, East has the A and is out of diamonds, so you can enjoy your 
clubs and finish up with ten tricks.

If West had the A, there was no hope anyway.  You can’t win them all!

Key Poin t
When playing notrump, consider holding up your ace on the opening lead.

To Question
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PROBLEM 9

You are South, declarer in 4.

			   	 A Q 2
	 	 	 	 10 9 7 6
	 	 	 	 K Q 2
	 	 	 	 J 4 3

			 

N 
W	 E 

S

	 	 	 	 4
	 	 	 	 K Q J 8 5 4
	 	 	 	 A J 4
	 	 	 	 10 9 2

	 West	 North	 East	 South
				    1
	 pass	 3	 pass	 4
	 all pass

You have a minimum hand with a good heart suit, so you open 1.  Partner 
raises you to 3, a limit raise showing 10-12 points and four hearts.  The 6-4 
trump fit improves your hand so you decide to have a go at game.

The lead is the 10.  How do you plan to make ten tricks?

Ana l ysis
Phew!  You escaped a club lead.  Your aggressive bid has landed you in 
a contract where you have three top club losers and you are also missing 
the ace of trumps.

How can you get rid of one of the club losers?  Should you start by 
drawing trumps?

To Answer
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SOLUTION 9

			   	 A Q 2
	 	 	 	 10 9 7 6
	 	 	 	 K Q 2
	 	 	 	 J 4 3
	 	 K 8 7 6			   	 J 10 9 5 3
	 	 2			   	 A 3
	 	 10 9 8 7 6			   	 5 3
	 	 A Q 6	

N 
W	 E 

S 	 	 K 8 7 5
	 	 	 	 4
	 	 	 	 K Q J 8 5 4
	 	 	 	 A J 4
	 	 	 	 10 9 2

You certainly cannot draw trumps immediately because the opponents can 
cash three club tricks when they get in with the A.

There is only one way to eliminate a club loser and that is to discard it on 
a spade.  So win the opening lead in your hand with the J and lead the 4 
towards dummy.  West will play low so finesse the Q from dummy.  It wins, 
and you can then discard a club on the A.

Now you can turn your attention to trumps and you will make your 
contract.

Key Poin t
Delay drawing trumps if necessary, in order to establish a winner in a side suit on 

which to discard a loser.

To Question
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PROBLEM 10

You are East.  After a simple bidding sequence, South is declarer in 3NT.  
Partner leads the K.

			   	 Q 8 6
	 	 	 	 K J 4
	 	 	 	 9 8 5
	 	 	 	 A 4 3 2
					     	 K 7 2
	 	 	 	 	 	 9 8 6 5
	 	 	 	 	 	 K Q 6 2
	 	 	

N 
W	 E 

S
	 	 6 5

	 West	 North	 East	 South
		  pass	 pass	 1NT
	 pass	 3NT	 all pass

South opens 1NT (15-17 HCP).  North has 10 HCP with no four-card major 
and goes straight to 3NT.

The lead is the K, which declarer takes in dummy with the A.  
Declarer now plays the Q from dummy.

How do you play from here?

Ana l ysis
Normally second hand plays low, but is that the case when an honor is 
led?

To Answer
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SOLUTION 10

			   	 Q 8 6
	 	 	 	 K J 4
	 	 	 	 9 8 5
	 	 	 	 A 4 3 2
	 	 10 5 3			   	 K 7 2
	 	 10 3 2			   	 9 8 6 5
	 	 J 10 7			   	 K Q 6 2
	 	 K Q J 10	

N 
W	 E 

S 	 	 6 5
	 	 	 	 A J 9 4
	 	 	 	 A Q 7
	 	 	 	 A 4 3
	 	 	 	 9 8 7

A good rule in defense is to cover a single honor led from dummy.
Look at what happens if you don’t cover the Q with your K.  The Q 

wins the trick, then declarer leads the 6 from dummy and plays the J.  This 
wins and declarer continues with the A, dropping your K and establishing 
the 4 as a fourth trick in spades.  Together with three tricks in hearts and the 
A and A, this ensures that the contract rolls home.

Now watch what happens when you cover the Q with the K.  Declarer 
wins the A and this promotes your partner’s 10.  Declarer can take the J 
but the 10 will win the third trick in spades.  What a huge difference this 
makes!  Declarer can only take eight tricks — three spades, three hearts, one 
diamond and one club, and you will defeat the contract.

So remember the Golden Rule:

Key Poin t
When dummy leads a single honor, cover it!

To QuestionTo Question




